paramore you so get me. and other random thoughts.

so i’m in the middle of a long and drawn out love affair. with music. yes, i’m one of those girls who really uses music to express what i feel. it’s in my head all the time, even if i don’t have headphones in and it can make even my worst mood better. however, i am not generally faithful to a specific kind of music. that’s right, i have music ADHD (in addition to the real life ADHD). and i just can’t commit. it’s sad really. in fact, i’m probably the luckiest person in the world that iTunes came along. i just don’t buy whole albums of artists. oh and soundtrack albums are AWESOME.

yes, i did make my own mixed tapes and cds when i was younger. and yes, i did label them based on my mood. and no, my labels didn’t always make sense to other people.

however, there are a few artists that i do – always – buy the whole album. one of them is paramore. if you don’t know who they are (though i think most of the world probably does by now, they’re kind of a big deal these days) check them out.

so they just came out with a new album. and i’m fascinated. see, the thing is that with paramore, their songs aren’t about all of the same things. if you listen to the lyrics, they deal with a myriad of issues ranging from trust issues, to love, to life in general. it’s pretty darn cool if you are me (which you aren’t so if you don’t agree… tough shit, but i’ll still love you anyways).

in their new album, there is one song in particular that i’m pretty sure is my anthem of my early and mid 20s. here’s a sample of the lyrics:

Why do you care what people think?
Are you hooked up to their leash?
You know anklebiters,
Ate up your personality.

Try to remember how it felt,
To just make up your own steps
And let anklebiters,
Chew up, spit out someone else.

And fall in love with yourself.

Because someday you’re gonna be,
The only one you’ve got.
Someday you’re gonna be,
The only one you’ve got.

in case you don’t know, i spent my teen years worrying about how the world perceived me. i really thought my self worth was defined by what other people thought of me.

i got over it.

i realized that how i feel about myself is the only thing that really matters in this world. now don’t get me wrong, this does not mean that i just let it all hang out there and that i have no filter. i have friends like that and i love and admire them for that, but i’m not quite that much of an extrovert. some things are just for me.

and i’m comfortable with that.

oh. and i went to the beach for the first time this year. i love my mountains, and i love the fact that my state also has some pretty kick ass beaches less than 6 hours away. and the best part of all? when i came back from the beach, i brought spring with me!

Leave a Reply

