close your eyes girl, look inside girl

i adore music. all music. i’ll listen to anything once. however one of my favorite genres is classic/60s/70s/80s/early 90s rock (yes i recognize there are distinctions in there, but that’s my era that i love). i was raised on a steady diet of allman brothers, journey, kansas, you name it. in fact, the best concert i’ve ever been to hands down has been kansas at farthing auditorium. so today, i asked my dear friend emily (yes, my farmers market accomplice for those of you who keep up) what was the first song off the top of her head.

drumroll please:

magic carpet ride (not the disney version) the one by steppenwolf (exact words). for those of you who don’t remember or have never heard this or aren’t as enamored with this era of music as i am, it goes a lil something like this (youtube it if you need to):

I like to dream yes, yes, right between my sound machine
On a cloud of sound I drift in the night
Any place it goes is right
Goes far, flies near, to the stars away from here

Well, you don’t know what we can find
Why don’t you come with me little girl
On a magic carpet ride
You don’t know what we can see
Why don’t you tell your dreams to me
Fantasy will set you free
Close your eyes girl
Look inside girl
Let the sound take you away

Last night I held Aladdin’s lamp
And so I wished that I could stay
Before the thing could answer me
Well, someone came and took the lamp away
I looked around, a lousy candle’s all I found

Well, you don’t know what we can find
Why don’t you come with me little girl
On a magic carpet ride
Well, you don’t know what we can see
Why don’t you tell your dreams to me
Fantasy will set you free
Close your eyes girl
Look inside girl
Let the sound take you away

You don’t know what we can find
Why don’t you come with me little girl
On a magic carpet ride
Well, you don’t know what we can see
Why don’t you tell your dreams to me

now, i personally love this song. it reminds me of college when i was going through my hippie phase and, shall we say, wasn’t quite as responsible as i am now. however, i also heard it growing up and still listen to this day. it speaks of adventure into the unknown and magic. it also speaks of introspection and letting the music speak to you. it’s an ode to where your brain can take it under the right circumstances (cough cough…) and with the right people. step out of your grounded reality just for a little bit and see where fantasy takes you.

i’ve been spending far too much time myself lately being grounded in the day-to-day ups, downs, ins, and outs of adulthood. new job, new responsibilities, you know how it is. but for the most part, i really like it. i’m learning something new every single day and being challenged to stretch my knowledge base. but songs like me make me remember, you can’t be serious and responsible all the time. it’ll weigh you down until you can’t stand for the strain of the weight on your shoulders.

so today loyal (or maybe not so loyal, i’m not really sure, nor do i care) i have a challenge for you. have a daydream. imagine little people living in the woods. make up a story about the person sitting next to you in traffic. sing a silly song. challenge yourself to throw off the filters of life and reality, even if it’s just for a few minutes. remember you are a kid (or you used to be and that kid is still somewhere inside you banging on the walls to be given a breath of fresh air). let your mind flow free of incumbrance and the stigma of what you should and should not do.

do it.

Leave a Reply

