what is a community?

so for those of you who may not know my entire history (get to know me… i’m pretty much an open book), i was a recipient of a scholarship that enabled me to go to college. i can’t say with 100% certainty that i would be where i am now without it. i can’t even say that i would have been able to finish my degree. as it is, i’m the second person in my family to graduate from college. it was and is still a big deal to me that i have an education.

now that you have that background, know that i will do whatever i can to help the foundation that enabled me to do this. this includes giving impromptu speeches at dinners for patrons. and by impromptu, i mean i had like two hours notice and was fortunate to have that. but, the important thing is to get it out there right? i just hope i don’t have to do it again anytime soon… public speaking isn’t generally my forte.

so read the speech (or not) then if you can, donate some money or time or what have you to the blowing rock community foundation, cause they make people want to do more than well, they make you want to do good too.

When you look up the definition of community in the dictionary, it says that community is a group of associated nations sharing common interests or a common heritage. But I think a community is more than that. To a kid growing up in one, a community is where your parents know you’re going to be grounded before you do. It’s knowing that every other person on the street is probably on first name basis with at least one of your parents so you better watch what you say and do. It’s people just coming to sit and be with you when your grandpa dies. It’s a place that has people who take you in and embrace you as if you were their own.

i have been very fortunate to grow up as a part of a community. I am even more fortunate to have been a part of this community. the community foundation in blowing rock along with the stevens have literally helped me make my dreams come true.

my family moved up here almost 40 years ago and the blowing rock community accepted them with open arms. my greatest dream in life was to get my college degree. i applied for one of the community foundation scholarships and, very much to my surprise was awarded the stevens scholarship. i was able to get a college degree. now i just needed to figure out what to do with it.

six years and two degrees later, i accepted my job with appalachian state university and never looked back. i’m here, in a community I love doing what I love to do. And I could never have done it without the community foundation and the stevens.

One thought on “what is a community?

  1. And a fine speech it was, it would have taken me weeks and it would not have been as good or as funny. You did a beautiful job! Aunt Carol love you!

Leave a Reply

